Costa Rica Hotel and Vacation Reviews

Imagine a fun vacation in San Jose, Costa Rica with hotel reviews and testimonials from Hotel Presidente. Read reviews of our Costa Rica hotel and see why travelers from around the world spend their vacations with us. Start planning your Costa Rica vacation adventures!
Costa Rica Hotel Testimonials
 
 
  In the Heart of San Jose  
 
Hotel Presidente is located in the heart of downtown on the pedestrian mall ofSan Jose. There are many restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Most of the historic landmarks including the National Theater, museums within walking distance.

- BezRaz, Hod Hasharon on March 2012
 
  Heaven after 8 days in Costa Rica   
 

We stayed at Hotel Presidente after 8 days all over Costa Rica. After the 3 previous places i was SURE that it was illegal to have a comfortable mattress in costa Rica. But that's not true because Hotel Presidente was soooooo nice. The bed was the perfect firmness coupled with the perfect softness. The sheets and blankets were crisp and clean.
We had a standard room. I didn;t need more than that. It had 2 beds, a night table and a small sitting table and a TV. Really that's more than enough. The view was crap but thats because Most of the things to look at weren't of quality. Not the hotel's fault at all.
We blew a fuse at one point because my bf was messing with the reading lamp. All power to the room went out but they had it repaired within 5-10 minutes.

Breakfast comes with the room and it included eggs, rice and beans, stewed chicken. also there were fruits, breads, cereal, juice and coffee. It was plenty.

Also, since we didn;t travel with computers it was especially nice that there are 2 free-use computers in the lobby. Perfect for checking sights and things to do or reading reviews on a restaurant.

speaking of Restaurants, we went to La Esquina de Buenos Aires. It was about 5 blocks to the left and 2 blocks over. We walked and it was fine. The crime around San Jose is presumably high but we went to a festival and walked around a lot during the day. Just be smart and alert.

They got us a cab to the airport which ran about 30 bucks US.

- ikirol, Atlanta, Georgia on March 2012
 
 
  Best Choice in downtown San Jose   
 
Hotel Presidente is located in the heart of downtown San Jose. If you are looking for a place that has many restaurants and shopping within walking distance this is the spot since you have many historic landmarks including the National Theater, museums within walking distance, and you are right on the central avenue shopping district. The pedestrian mall is several blocks long and offers a wealth of shopping.

The hotel itself has modern accomodations and very helpful staff that aim to help. After reading several posts it is accurate that your best bet is to get a room that does not face the central avenue, but since you are in the heart of San Jose you can expect some traffic noise, but it is bearable. Also it is true that at times you could hear people walking thru the hallways rolling their luggage at night. In all the pros outweigh any cons and i would return here for my next trip to San Jose. The breakfast buffet included in the price was good and you can not beat the location.  
 
- elcoqui13, New Yor City, New York on February 2012
 
  Modern hotel in downtown location   
 
After staying in many small, rustic, bungalow-like accommodations throughout Costa Rica we were quite happy to stay in a modern and spacious room. It felt like home! The room decor was nice, the shower was great, flat screen TV, new and crisp bedding - no complaints at all (we just didn't have any towel hooks in our room!). The front desk staff was very professional and friendly - went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast buffet was excellent - good selection of food and real service. They even offered to make pancakes for our 2 year old son when he mentioned they were his favourite. The location is perfect - on the main pedestrian street within a 10 minute walk of the market and all the museums and buildings of interest. Several good restaurants in the area and lots of fast food options if you need them! Tip: We only paid about $80/night as the hotel was running a promotion with Tripadvisor.  
 
- benj09, Toronto, Canada on February 2012
 
 
  Nice hotel in downtown san jose   
 
I spent two nights in the Hotel Presidente in downtown San Jose. It is located right on the pedestrian walk which is nice as you can walk out the door and walk immediately to shops, grocery stores, restaurants. However, this part of San Jose is not attractive and the shops are mostly low end clothing. There are several grocery stores just a few blocks in both directions and they are a good place to buy coffee (if you want to bring back coffee as gifts).
Now the hotel: there were lots of good things about it. In the lobby are two free computers which you can use anytime. The buffet breakfast was included and it was good with a variety of fruit, bread and hot dishes (the hot dishes are generally the same). The staff was extremely helpful and polite. The fitness room/gym was on the top floor with a fantastic view over the city. It had a new elliptical machine, a new treadmill, rowing machine, a bike and one weight machine. So while it was small, the equipment was good. I had an interior room that seemed more like a cave (very little natural light) which I didn't particularly like but I must say that it was quiet. I saw other rooms with windows and they were nice. My room had a refrigerator and a safe but no coffee/tea maker which I would have liked. The bathroom and shower were huge with lots of hot water. All in all, I recommend this hotel as a very nice place to stay. I particularly liked that it is an older building that has been renovated rather than a cookie cutter modern hotel.
 
- blanco1, Knoxville, Tennessee on February 2012
 
  Really Impressed  
 
Room - Clean, well organized and decorated. Brand new modern fresh, Looks like the room has never been used.
Employees - Very eager to please, sharp, kind, thoughtful, and helpful. They really put it all out and as many hotels I have stayed in I can't recall a more respectful staff.
Location - Perfect and safe location in downtown. Within walking distance to all city tourist attractions.
Food - The morning breakfast that was included with my room rate was well worth it and better than I have had in higher rated hotels. The Restaurant was still under construction but by the look of the new lobby it will be stellar. I only had two meals at dinner, both above average and of course like every better hotel a little pricey but not insanely up there.
I was really happy I chose this Hotel just by walking past the some of the other High rated stays listed on tripadvisor You will like it and be happy you chose Hotel Presidente.

- Joe S, Miami Beach, Florida on February 2012
 
  Very nice hotel  
 
The hotel was very nice, they had a spa, bar and restaurant and everything was clean. The Rooms were quite spacious too. Though walking around at night (even at times during the day) didn't always feel safe in San Jose, the hotel hat security at the door at all times which was nice and locked the gates where you parked. Great for the price, especially if you want to be within walking distance of alot of the city.

- Capo44, on February 2012
 
  The Best Location  
 
We had a wonderful time at Hotel Presidente.All the staff were very helpful and went out of their way to be helpful.We loved the location being right on Central Ave.The rooms were very nice.We would return here in a heartbeat if we ever went back to San Jose.Loved it for it's perfect location!

- eibbed6, Saint Thomas, Canada on February 2012
 
  Nice place in a great location  
 
I was only here one night and stayed in the jacuzzi suite. It was awesome. Staff was great. Location was key to being able to walk around to most of the attractions and this place is right in the middle of it all. FOOD WAS AMAZING at this hotel, probably best meal I had all trip. Only bad thing was the noise from the busy streets and the train honking but I would definitely stay here again. Thank you!

- Shanetastic, Miami Beach, Florida on February 2012
 
  good relax after flight to san jose  
 
not many things to do in san jose, but after arrival or before departure this is the best solution

- bestsZagreb, zagreb, on February 2012
 
  Perfect hotel in the heart of San José  
 

We spent a week at the Hotel Preidente. It is small but very special. Located right on the central avenue pedestrian boulevard. Hotel is upgrading the rooms with wi-fi. They were able to put a router in our room because we have IPads. The staff is friendly and always willing to help.

- Guffeyman, Canon City, Colorado on January 2012
 
 
  Wonderful Hotel  
 

I stayed here the first three nights of my trip. It is wonderful hotel, very centrally located. For those that may be concerned with safety, both sides of the lobby are guarded. I never felt unsafe, either in the hotel or walking around San Jose (although I didn't do it in the evening other than walking to the retaurant). The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you are arriving into San Jose in the evening, have the hotel pick you up. The price they charge is only a little more than a taxi. I had read that it was about $25 for a cab, the hotel charged $30. For the extra $5, the drive was waiting, we didn't have to hassle with the onslaught of cabbies and there was much appreciated bottled water waiting for us. After a long flight & customs - it was the best $5 I'd spent in a while.

- IxChel3300, Sacramento, CA on January 2012
 
  best hotel in San-Jose  
 

We didn't plan to get to San-Jose in our trip, but our backpacks got stolen with all of our money and travel documents, so we had to get to the capital. Hotel Presidente was our favorite place in San-Jose. Rooms are nice and clean, very good breakfast to start the day, and free internet. It's one of the few places you can feel safe in San-Jose, and they have secured parking place. To top it all - the staff is very nice and helpful, especially the hotel manager Katherine who helped us arranging our documents and money, so we could continue our trip. When she heard we are on our honeymoon, she immediately upgraded our room to the honeymoon sweet, with no charge. The hotel also have prime location, in the center of city, not far from the national theater, and have good restaurants around.  

- Adi, M, Tel Aviv, Israel on January 2012
 
 
  Hotel Presidente  
 
I don't have nothing bad to say about this place, me am my new wife stayed there at the end of our honeymoon the day before departing Costa Rica to the U.S. I thought for the price the room as a bit empty in decore, but other than that everything else was great. We stayed at the Grand Spa King, great bed, great bathroom, the couch no so much. We love the location, right on Avenida Central, so everything you needed was within walking distance...Lots of parks and plazas close. The staff was more than great, free buffet breakfast was great. Free Parking...Like I said, my only problem, but I wouldn't call it a problem was the room decor and the sofas not being comfortable... but this are things we can live with. Another plus for this hotel, the Balconies, they weren't huge but enough to stand out there looking at the beautiful city..
 
- Morsisuyo, Jacksonville, Florida on January 2012
 
 
  Great hotel in the heart of San Jose  
 
We stayed here for one night before our early morning flight. We had heard bad things about San Jose in general, but this hotel was located in a fairly good part of San Jose. The hotel staff were friendly, the room was huge and very clean. I would recommend this to anyone spending a night in San Jose.
 
- Denise K, Chicago, Illinois on January 2012
 
  High quality hotel in the downtown area  
 

This is a very high quality hotel in the middle of the downtown area. It is located on avenida central (downtown San Jose's main street), this hotel allows visitors walking access to the gold museum, national museum etc. Since the street is closed off to vehicles visitors can walk up and down visiting shops, and great spots to eat. Great place for first time visitors to Costa Rica.
The rooms are very clean, modern, flat screen tvs with many american shows such as CNN in english. The beds are very very clean and comfortable. There's a great buffet breakfast included with the room. The breakfast features fresh fruit , eggs, omletes toast, and fresh squeezed juice.
Hotel is very secure with attendants on duty at all times. Overall, a superior-quality hotel in the heart of San Jose. We will definitely stay at this hotel our next visit to Costa Rica.  

 - Sandershv, Akron, Ohio on December 2011
 
 
  Very good place to stay 
 
Stayed 1 night after arriving to Costa Rica and hotel didn't disappoint. right in the middle of the city, one block away from Gold museum. good place to crash and rest before moving to otehr parts of the country.
 
 - moskvich5, Brooklyn, New York on December 2011
 
 
  Lovely hotel in not such a lovely place  
 
Truth be told, San Jose somewhat frightened me, but the SJ Hotel Presidente was a great experience and they made all efforts to keep us informed, comfortable and feeling safe. There were many notices and precautions to take cabs (staff even recommended we take a taxi vs walk to a restaurant about 6 blocks away, around 7 pm) and they give you local maps of friendly/safe restaurants, ATM locations, museums, etc., and staff/security at every entrance and lobby desk. When we found out about a concert in town they called ahead for us & made sure tickets were available and assisted us with ticket reservations. The hotel was clean and staff was polite and everyone was very American friendly. Great breakfast bar in the morning and cute little lobby bar for drinks or coffee. All issues surrounding the hotel in reviews on here can be true (yes there are homeless, prositutes, very few police to be seen, loud streets and traffic outside in every direction), but that has little to nothing to do w. the Presidente. If you want to stay downtown San Jose in a clean, safe and affordable spot, I highly recommend Hotel Presidente.  
 
 - janam521, Los Angeles, California on November 2011
 
  Recommend  
 
Nice room, I had a junior suite, plenty of space, very helpful staff, centrally located for tourist spots. Breakfast good with buffet and egg chief. Computer available in reception I with wifi, at the time of my visit the wifi did not work on iPad. But all in all if you want to stay downtown this hotel is idea.
 
 - Jsy-traveller, Jersey, on November 2011
 
  Costa Rica part 1  
 
Loved the hotel and the ees, located in the middle of the busiest streetnin costa rica, it gave us a chance to see locals and tourists. We loved the breakfast. Great omelets and fine juices. The coffe is great as well.
 
 - asturias2905, Chicago, Illinois on November 2011
  Great Location for a Short Stay  
 
My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night after traveling from the US on the way to Arenal. This was our first stop in Costa Rica. We wanted a place to stay that was in a central location and close to everything. We were only in San Jose for one night and with the location of Hotel Presidente, we are able to get our fill of San Jose and do everything in walking distance. We only needed a cab to get us to the airport, everything else was super close. The room was comfortable and quaint. Nothing too special, it served its purpose for the night. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. It was close to food and the casino and landmarks. I'd recommend this hotel for a short stay in San Jose.
Room Tip: Select a higher floor if possible since the Hotel is in the center of city and there can be street noise.
 
 - Mham80, York, Pennsylvania on November 2011
  Upscale and friendly  
 
We stayed in this hotel for one night before leaving on a flight the next morning. We arrived relatively late in the evening after a six hour bus ride. The concierge had all the paperwork ready and waiting for us. We had booked the hotel because friends of ours had had a great time enjoying the city lights from the roof-top jacuzzi. We found out that it was closed for renovation when we got there, but the woman at the front desk upgraded both of our rooms to the suites that had private jacuzzis. (Very nice of her since we didn't ask for it!)

The restaurant was also under renovation, but the cafeteria set up in the lobby for breakfast was nice. The three computers in the lobby were always busy with people on them, so it might take awhile if you planned on checking email or checking in for a flight. There isn't any WiFi in the rooms; only in the lobby. The casino, which is attached to the hotel seemed smokey and small. There were a lot of slot machines. (not sure about tables, didn't look), Overall, it was a very pleasant stay, made so because of the upgrade. At normal cost and under regular conditions, I'd say it was a nice business-type of hotel, but not ideal for a vacation-style stay.
 
 - Globalmischief, Lewes, Delaware on October 2011
  Excellent overnight stay  
 
The Hotel Presidente is situated in the heart of San Jose. The staff there are very friendly and helpful. The mini suite was very tastefully furnished and very clean. The beds were sublimely comfortable. After being in Hotel Management for 27 years, I am very critical of hotel service. I could not fault The Hotel Presidente. At first I did not like the idea of the restaurant being in the center of the lobby area but actually it works well for people watchers such as myself. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The free breakfast in the morning was very good, with a large range of hot and cold items on offer. Step outside the front door and you are on the main thoroughfare for good shopping and visiting museums. Sadly we were only in San Jose overnight. Next time we will arrange to have more time there.
 
Room Tip: Ask for a mini suite. Actually we were on the busy side of the hotel but the windows are obviously insulated. There was no intrusive noise. There is NO intrusive A/C noise. Hurrah for that!!! American hotels could learn from this. Their A/C system was state of the art.
 
 - Jillyjoe1946 , Palm Coast, Florida United States on October 2011
  Heart of the City  
 
This is a really nice hotel in the heart of the city right on the main pedestrian only shopping district and next to the National theater, Muse d'Oro, etc. Room was spacious and had a microwave and reefer, chairs and sofa. Very comfortable and modern. Large spacious bathroom with modern fixtures etc. Very clean.

Buffet breakfast included with omelet station and many other items.

Very friendly and helpful staff with a full command of the English language.

Having said all of that: there really isn't a lot of reasons to go to San Jose. I had locals warn me about the dangers while sitting in the main square across from the cathedral on Sunday morning. Police were everywhere. If you go to San Jose this is the place to stay but, aside from the museums there is really no attraction here.

Did see a very good ballet version of Peter Pan at the National
Theater. Had some good food in the National Hotel and several resturants
 
 - Perry000, New Orleans, Louisiana on October 2011
  SPLENDID  
 
At last a hotel that looks after it's guests!!!! What a wonderful hotel located in such a great spot! We stayed here before we hit the Costa Rican coast and also upon return 3 months later and the lovely girl on the front desk not only remembered us but gave us a free upgrade! The staff here are fantastic! The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable. And as for the buffet breakfast it is delicious! Not o be missed if in San Jose! We will be back! 

 - Daisy E, Hobart, Australia on October 2011
  You can´t bet this hotel´s location  
 
The best thing about Hotel Presidente is the hotel's location. We have stayed at this hotel a few times, and each time we are reminded of how great this hotel is for first-time visitors to Costa Rica. Located on avenida central (downtown San Jose's main street), this hotel allows visitors to access famous attractions such as the gold museum, jade museum, and national theatre – all within walking distance. Since the street is closed off to vehicles, hotel visitors can walk up and down visiting local shops, finding a great spot to eat (we recommend El Patio del Balmoral which is across the street from Hotel Presidente), and checking out what the street vendors have for sale the particular day you are there. From inside the hotel, the rooms are clean, quiet (we could not hear any noise from the street below), display modern décor (each room has its own flatscreen), and offer some of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on. The lobby and check-in employees were pleasant, as was the parking attendant and front door security staff. Breakfast is included with each hotel stay, which is a hearty buffet including an omelette bar. The hotel also has a great first-floor restaurant that opens up onto the corner of avenida central (perfect for people-watching), however unfortunately this restaurant was closed during our most recent visit. Although complimentary airport shuttle service and a pool are not available at this hotel option, Hotel Presidente's location and quality are such valuable assets that they more than make up for these disadvantages. Overall, a superior-quality accommodation in the heart of San Jose that we enjoy staying at when in town. 

 - Pacuare, La fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica on October 2011
  Great Hotel in a Good Location  
 

This is your typical business class hotel, great for one night stay (which is plenty for San Jose) with good service, clean rooms all the basic necessities including A/C. The location is very central with walking distance to most major attractions. (not that there are many ). The hotel staff is very friendly and will let you know good places to eat. Some places at night you should take a cab to (even though its walking distance) to be on the safe side. San Jose is not the safest city. But the area the hotel is situated in is quite safe before 9-10pm. The breakfast is good and the local restaurant serves good food. We stayed one night right before our flight back and it was just perfect for that. If you walk a bit further to Plaza de La Democracia, on Avenida Central, right before the plaza you'll find a little market, where you can buy soveniers much cheaper then in stores.

 - Rapius, New York on September 2011
 
  The Junior Suite is AMAZING!   
 
We were married in Manuel Antonio and stayed there for much of our honemoon. We wanted to stay two nights in San Jose to see the city and chose Hotel Presidente. This hotel is upscale, clean and friendly.

The Junior Suite is amazing. We had a wonderful view of Central Avenue, which bustles day and night. When the door was closed to our balcony (you can't walk out on it, you open up the door which is immediatly met by a balcony rail.) We had so much fun at night just standing there and watching people.

The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. We used the 24 hour taxi service at the hotel to grab a ride to the airport at 4:30 AM. Breakfast is free and includes, coffee (of course), juices, eggs, omeletes made to order, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and breakfast breads.

We will stay here again!
 
- Bubbas427, CHampshire, Illinois on August 2011
 
  Short of time.. visit the heart of the city safely and in a timely manner  
 
Located only a few minute walk to the heart of san jose where you will find the famous teatro national, gold and jade museum and cathedral metropolitana. Service was exceptional....the spa service ( facial and/or massage) excellent (Amanda). El patio restaurant across street very good prices for large portions, great atmosphere and service. Staff let us keep our rent a car on location for two days while we toured the north carribean and did not charge us...we left a nice tip. Their restaurant and roof jaccuzi closed, but plenty of restaurants nearby. Security present everywhere. Great continental breakfast in lobby!!! Worth every penny....most of all - very impressed with staff....they were ALL so friendly and helpful! Highly recommend this hotel for short stays.  
 
- changes01, California on August 2011
 
  Great for a jumping off point in Costa Rica   
 
We stayed here during the first night of our Costa Rica trip before continuing on to other parts of the country. San Jose isn't some place you'd want to stay too long but if you're jumping off to other parts of the country from here then this hotel is in a great location downtown that lets you access some of the good restaurants, nightlife and museums easily.

We were expecting pretty basic business accommodations, but this place ended up being really nice. Food was above average, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the service was pretty good.

Would recommend checking it out when you visit San Jose.
 
- rbinsf, San Francisco, California on August 2011
  Great for a one night stay  

We got into San Jose at 3:00 and had only one night in the captial city. We decided to stay here because it was centrally located in town. We walked the pedestrian blvd, went to the open air market and shopped in a few stores. We tried to get into the teatro de bellas artes but it was closed. It looked beautiful though! Our driver recommended eating at El Patio which was across the street and it was great! Everyone in the hotel was very nice (a little confusing walking up and down the steps), but the room and beds were very clean. I would go back!

Room Tip: Perhaps a room with a view of the pedestrian blvd? It's not noisy.
 
- babybear96, Newtown, pennsylvania on August 2011
  Oasis of Serenity in San José  

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Presidente for a night before flying back to the states. The junior suite was very well appointed, clean, comfy, and spacious. The hotel staff were exceptionally courteous, professional, and friendly--they really made our stay wonderful! Security is great and we felt very safe. The restaurant/bar is being remodeled, but there's a small yet adequate dining area attached to the lobby area. The continental breakfast was very good with both local fare and traditional options. The hotel is close to museums and restaurants. We'll stay again the next time we're back in San Jose.
 
-HappyTraveler113, Massachusetts, on August 2011
  Still the best price value in town

We have had the chance to come back to the hotel in March for 2 nights while on a week stay in Costa Rica, it is getting better each stay.

As previously stated the hotel is still a great place to stay, perfect central location, worked hard on its upgrade and the rooms turned out to be perfect.

If you consider the price value, the friendly service and the good food in their restaurant it is for sure one of the best places to stay. In addition; management has managed to put a stop to guest that used the hotel for short-term engagements.

There are no more old guys hanging out with local girls that used to be there, management did work hard to make it a Family hotel. I consider this besides the large undertaking in its renovation program as prime achievement.

If you are looking for a nice, clean and very comfortable city hotel to stay this would be one of the best options in San Jose. In if something does happen to go wrong, talk to the management staff and they will do their upmost to solve the situation and make you feel welcome.

Great place very warm hospitality!

- Globetrot, Guadalajara, Mexico on July 2011
 
  We loved and would highly recommend 

My wife, 15 yr old daughter, and myself stayed three nights 18-21 June 2011. Further to the recent positive reviews, we agree completely with those reviews. Great rooms, central downtown location and staff. Free breakfast was outstanding. We ate two evening meals at hotel and was very good also. Being able to use the fredd internet guest computer at the lobby area was great to keep in touch with home. All in all, a great experience and will highly recommend to our friends in Houston that this is the place to stay while in San Jose.

- fghltx, Houston Texas, on June 2011
 
  Great hotel, great location, great rooms 
I go to Costa Rica on business and this hotel is perfect for it. Its located in the heart of San Jose, the price is ideal, and it includes a wonderful breakfast. The staff is one of the kindest of the city. Rooms are very comfortable and they have free wi-fi, internet. From now on if I have to go to Costa Rica i will definetelly go to Hotel President. I have been to many hotels in the area and this hotel has definetelly the best value
- henrir, Miami, Florida , on June 2011
  Great location, great room 4 family 
My wife, 12 y/o, infant, and I arrived in San Jose early as our flight leaves in the morning. Decided on Presidente after reading reviews from Orbitz, Hotels, TripAdvisor, and Travelocity. The location is great; KFC is right next door, BurgerKing is less than a block if desired, and tons of food options with typical food. We had a casado next door which included tax and tip for 2200 colones each or $4.50 US. On the same street, there are hundreds of shops so you don't have to travel far. There a tons of people out during the day so very safe with police presence. We were told to stay in after 7pm unless we have a taxi though. Amanda at front dest as awesome and gave us a free upgraded room and the room price includes breakfast and a Sangra drink at the bar from 5-6pm. Highly recommend the hotel, it's clean, wifi in rooms, cars are secured inside gated hotel area, everyone speaks English and they even provide us with complimentary crib for he baby. After a month in Tamarindo, this was a good last day in Costa Rica. Back to the states
- MFCharlotte, Charlotte North Carolina , on May 2011
 We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Presidente 
We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Presidente. They treated us so well and had our room all decorated for when we checked in. A gift basket with yummy cookies, luggage tags, 2 hats and a bottle of wine were a great way to welcome a pair of honeymooners to San Jose. We wish we could have used the certificate to the spa for a couples massage but the in room jacuzzi helped us melt away and enjoy our last night in Costa Rica.

The one thing they could have done a bit better was letting me know ahead of time that find the hotel may be tough if driving. They were more than willing to hop in the car with us and direct us in once we made contact.
- JBuck420, Newport, California, on March, 2011
 Morning buffet is wonderful 
I usually have the luck of reserving hotels that are rated high but do not meet that standard. I'm not going to say I'm picky but I am. I'm on vacation I just want everything to be comfortable and available. Well ladies and gentlemen single and married if you're coming to San Jose this is the place to stay. The food is great, the free morning buffet is wonderful, the bar and restaurant employee s are awesome. If you're at the bar ask for Daniela she is the bartender that will go out of her way to make you a drink that you will enjoy and Andrea, I wish all waiters and waitresses were like her. She amazing, energetic, and she brings a comfort feeling to the restaurant that makes you feel like you've known her for years. O yes the location is perfect it's near all the attractions in walking distance (money in your pocket) and the security is great. Where are you going to find the same accommodation for an inexpensive price with great service. Take your chances or make this right choice.
- Sydnce. New Cork City, on March 2011
  Sehr gutes Stadhotel 
Mitten in der Fußgängerzone von San José gelegen. Draußen Trubel, innen Ruhe. Der Abschluss unserer Costa Rica Rundreise gestaltete sich als sehr angenehm, zumal wir auch ein Upgrade von der gebuchten Junior Suite in eine Spa Suite mit eigenem Jacuzzi bekommen haben. Aufmerksamer, unauffälliger Service, Sauberkeit im ganzen Haus, leckeres Essen im Restaurant, einzig das Frühstück hätte in der Hotelklasse reichhaltiger und abwechslungsreicher sein können.
- Napira. Hamburg, Aufenthalt Januar 2011
 Everyone is neat, courteous, helpful, friendly and cheerful 
It is a wonderful hotel in the perfect downtown San Jose location. The facilities are great and the restaurant and bar are exceptional; great food and drink in a perfect setting. The recent room improvements are also excellent. Despite all these facilities accolades, the shining stars are the staff. Everyone is neat, courteous, helpful, friendly and cheerful. They are the greatest asset.
- Norm J. CA, USA on November 03, 2009
 Compliments to all of you 
We (Ton, Jan, Leo and Jeroen) stayed twice in the hotel in the last two weeks. It was great. We enjoyed the hospitality and the service. The second time it felt like coming home!! Special thanks to Priscilla and David, everybody was very friendly but they felt a little bit special to us. Thanks again and when we visit your country again we will stay at the hotel again!! Compliments to all of you.
- Leo J. - Holland on January 08, 2009
 The condition of the room was excellent 
Staying at Hotel Presidente was a pleasure. I am very satisfied with the excellent services and extremely friendly and pleasant staff. In particular I would definitely like to leave a "Special Thanks" to the tour desk for helping me plan my tours. The people at reception were very friendly at all times (day or night). The condition of the room
was excellent.
- Amit B. - Bermuda on August 20, 2008
 Our experiences were wonderful 
I am writing to commend the expertise and efficiency of your employee, Alvaro....we appreciate his attention to detail and what a wonderful job he did. We will stay at your hotel again when we visit Costa Rica, which we do often. Our experiences were wonderful at your hotel and the service is outstanding.
- Kim F. - SC, USA on January 02, 2008
 I always enjoy my stay at the Hotel Presidente 
I always enjoy my stay at the Hotel Presidente. You have the friendliest employees I have ever met . . . the bellboys, everyone in the restaurant, and the cleaning personnel are all very nice. I've stayed at your hotel many times, and the hospitality of everyone and the excellent service are the best I have experienced.
- Michael A. - AZ, USA on December 10, 2007
 I always felt safe at the Hotel Presidente 
I had the pleasure of 7 days at the Hotel Presidente, Oct 2007, and was very impressed with the service, security, cleanliness, friendly staff, great breakfasts, and fine restaurant. The area around the hotel is bustling with shoppers, great shops and fine restaurants. I always felt safe at the Hotel Presidente, and will be a loyal client when I visit San Jose, Costa Rica.
- Gondolfo Z. - CA, USA on November 22, 2007
 We would like to commend Daniel Jaime at the front desk for all of his help! 
We have just returned from a wonderful vacation to Costa Rica. We would like to commend Daniel Jaime at the front desk for all of his help! We had booked through a third party travel web site, (big mistake) and there was a problem with our reservation. Daniel was extremely helpful, kind and friendly as he tried to work out the problem with them. We have stayed at a variety of hotels in San Jose but will always stay at the Presidente in the future because of the friendly service, cleanliness, location, price and safety. Many Americans hesitate to stay in San Jose because of the perceived dangers. We felt perfectly safe at the Presidente due to the many safety precautions used by the hotel. We will be recommending the Presidente to all of our friends! Also, please thank the female omelet chef for her friendliness and skill. Again, thank you for a wonderful experience in San Jose!
- Harold and Mary R. - USA on October 02, 2007
 Hotel Presidente is as good (actually better) than anywhere else 
Your hotel is the only place I ever stay when I come to San Jose. Wendy, Maria and all your front desk people are the best. They've always helped me whenever I've needed anything. I have been fortunate to have travelled all over the world. The service that I receive, from top to bottom, at Hotel Presidente is as good (actually better) than anywhere else.
- Dave C. - AZ, USA on September 06, 2007
 I wanted to tell you how great the total staff is at the Presidente 
I wanted to tell you how great the total staff is at the Presidente. The staff is equal to any luxury hotel I've stayed at in Hong Kong, Dubai, Paris, etc. The reason I believe this is, besides doing their work well, they are nice people.
- Michael K. - USA on July 16, 2007
 I will return again and your fine hotel will always be my first choice 
I recently stayed in your fine hotel (5-6 Nov. 2006). The facilities were great, my room was fantastic, and the service and courtesy provided by all your staff was the best and made my stay very enjoyable. Thank you so much for making my first trip to Costa Rica so pleasant and stress free. My thanks to the fine staff in the News Restaurant - outstanding service every morning and always greeted with a smile! I will return again and your fine hotel will always be my first choice.
- Craig S. - Utah, USA on November 08, 2006
 The Hotel Presidente is my first and only choice when staying in San Jose 
The Hotel Presidente is my first and only choice when staying in San Jose. The superior service I received from all levels of the staff, attention to detail and quality of the facility rank among the best I have received anywhere in
the world.
- Scott P. - USA on August 30, 2006
 I had a memorable and awesome time at your hotel! 
I had a memorable and awesome time at your hotel! It was truly a pleasure staying there and I felt like family. I can't wait till I come back and see everyone.
- Mike B. - FL, USA on August 30, 2006
 The staff at your News Cafe is incredible! 
The staff at your News Cafe is incredible! Not once did I not see a smiling face, they always seemed happy to see us and the food was always great.
- Antonio F. - USA on August 30, 2006
Local Time:
Exchange Rate for:
533 CRC for each USD
VERSIÓN EN ESPAÑOL
Central Ave Blvd, 7th Street, San Jose, Costa Rica
costa rica hotel vacation review/testimonial
Hotel Presidente - Central Ave Blvd, 7th Street, San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel Presidente
Central Ave Blvd, 7th Street
P.O.Box 2922-1000
San Jose, Costa Rica
Email: info@hotel-presidente.com
Telephone: 506-2010-0000
From the U.S. dial: 011-506-2010-0000
Fax: 506-2221-1205
From the U.S. Fax: 011-506-2221-1205